A Busy Weekend–MIMM 4/14/14

Happy Monday morning to you!

Wow, this weekend went by so fast! Guess that’s what happens when you’re having fun, time flies, right? We ended up having a jam-packed weekend, over here.

Saturday, John played (doubles) in a tennis tournament and had to be at the tennis courts, which happen to be about 25 minutes from our house, for a 9:30 am match. Even though I was up before him, I decided to stay back for the first match so I could enjoy my Saturday morning oats and coffee, get in a workout, and shower.

I ended up doing Jillian Michael’s No More Trouble Zones DVD that I streamed from Amazon Prime. It was surprisingly more challenging than I anticipated!

Around lunch time I headed up to the tennis courts. Lunch was packed to-go since I had no idea if I’d eat lunch out with John in between matches or be stuck at the courts all afternoon. Plus, I had no idea if there’d be any food available for sale at the courts. Good thing I planned ahead, because I ended up scarfing down lunch in the car before making my way in to the tennis facility.

Photo Apr 12, 11 40 49 AM

John and his partner lost the 9:30 am match, which put them into the consolation bracket, but won their 2pm match. That meant they’d play on Sunday at 10:30am.

Photo Apr 13, 12 00 06 PM

Following their afternoon match, I dragged my sweet hubby to the outdoor mall that happens to be located about 5 minutes down the road. I didn’t find too much, but did manage to grab a dress and some MUCH needed pants and capris at Ann Taylor Loft and Gap. I have SUCH a hard time finding pants that fit (especially the length) – tall and thin apparently is not a winning combination in the retail world.

On the way home we stopped by the downtown Riverfront area. 1 Saturday a month the city puts on “Second Saturdays.” It’s basically kind of like a street festival/market – lots of vendors set up along the riverside, there is food, fun for the kids, and live entertainment. It’s really a great community event.

Photo Apr 12, 6 33 21 PM

This weekend it was actually held under an old train shed adjacent to the riverfront. We had SO much rain earlier this past week that part of the river walk sidewalk was still underwater! We ventured down to see it, until a cop made us leave. Oops!

Photo Apr 12, 6 39 54 PM

That railing is normally a platform you can walk on.

I picked up Zoe’s on the way home – my favorite! And we enjoyed a much needed low key night at home.

Photo Apr 12, 7 23 27 PM

Sunday morning began at the tennis courts. John and his partner made it to the finals of the consolation bracket, but ended up losing.

Photo Apr 13, 12 09 39 PM

Following the match, we headed to grab some lunch and look for my mother-in-law a birthday gift. I may or may not have snagged another pair of pants. Winking smile  Birthday shopping was followed by our weekly grocery trip.

Once we arrived home I spent some time getting ready for the week ahead and completing lesson plans, cleaning up the house, doing a bit of food prep, and winding things down from the weekend to get ready for another week.

Over all, it was a busy, bu great weekend. And I’m now ready for a Marvelous Monday! (Thanks Katie for hosting the link-up!)

Let’s Chat…

1. What did you do this weekend?

2. Where are your favorite places/go to stores to shop at?

3. Workout you’ve been loving recently?

6 thoughts on “A Busy Weekend–MIMM 4/14/14

  1. Congratulations to your man & his partner for making it to the finals of he consys. Who cares if they lost 🙂 When we lived in the States, our go-to fast food was Moe’s Southwestern or Subway. Both equally delicious.

    • Oooo…John loves Moe’s and I LOVE Subway!! Definitely 2 good ones! In fact, on Mondays Moe’s have $5 burritos, and I think John may be picking one up on his way home tonight!

  2. Good for John- I’m sure you were an awesome cheerleader! 😉
    I like to shop in the States, but here we have a great Tommy Hilfiger outlet ($20 sweaters with coupons? Yes please!).
    This weekend was a birthday dinner, church and a coffee date for some much needed girl talk 🙂

Leave a comment