Be the Change

I’ve seen the quote, “Be the change you wish to see” countless times. I usually see it, smile, and move on. I don’t really give the meaning much thought.

If that means choosing to forgive and love and feel peace in your heart when you 'have every right' to be furious... be the change you wish to see.

But, today, I really got to thinking about what exactly it means.

I had a meeting after work today in which we discussed some changes that we’d like to make around our school. We talked about another school that some of us recently had the privilege of touring. After our tour, we were asked to come back and share the things we saw.

The hope was that we’d get some new ideas and see fresh ways of doing things. This way we are *hopefully* constantly improving as a school, meeting our student’s needs in the best way possible, and creating responsible, forward-thinking, analytical, proud, and well rounded students. After our tour, the major thing we came away with was how POSITIVE everything and everyone seemed around the schools we visited.

My school is HUGE – think 1200+ students – and even though we all work hard at our jobs and do what’s best for our kids, sometimes the mood can be all “doom and gloom,” if ya know what I mean.

With all the paperwork we’re required to do, standards we must meet, deadlines to make, on top of students to teach, it’s easy to feel overwhelmed and develop a negative attitude. Not to mention, the pressure that comes during this time of the year – standardized testing and end of the year requirements can make for a stressed out teacher!

I got to thinking…one smile, one encouraging word, an anonymous note, or even a grateful e-mail can make all the difference in someone’s day. I know that when I’m encouraged, I’m more likely to smile, have a better attitude, and pass it on.

A Positive Attitude

If I want to see a change around my workplace, want to see happier,  more hopeful, more joyous co-workers, I  can begin to be the change. Attitudes are contagious. Joyfulness is not dependent on circumstance, but rather our outlook and perspective.

It’s my goal this week to be the change I want to see. I am so blessed, and yes – am prone to major stress as much as the next person – but I have NO reason to have a negative attitude. When I begin to think negatively or complain, it’s my goal to name at least 3 things I’m thankful for.

Be Joyful Always  Pray Continually  Give Thanks in all Circumstances  1 Thessalonians 5.16-18

I CAN and WILL be the change I want to see,” and you can too!

So today, I’m treating myself and those around (thanks to Becky for the link-up!) me by thinking positively, remembering all I’ve been blessed with, and remaining joyful in every circumstance.

Let’s Chat…

1. How can you “be the change” in YOUR situation – work, school, home, etc?

2. How are you treating yourself this week?

3. Share your thoughts!

4 thoughts on “Be the Change

  1. This is such a great thought to think about. At this moment I think keeping positive in any situation in class is going to make all the difference. Get rid of the negative talk no matter how unfair I feel it is!

    • Totally! Negative thoughts really don’t serve a purpose at all – so we should just do away with them. It’s so easy to fall into that trap though.

  2. You are so awesome! I have always believed that you can be the change of anyones day/life. Everyday I smile at people I see.. I mean you really never know if they are having a bad day. It’s really all about the simple things in life.

Leave a Reply

