A MUST Around My Household

I don’t know about you, but there are certain grocery items that are a “must” around my household. For instance, if my husband is out of mayo, it ain’t a pretty sight around these parts, ya feel me?

In all seriousness though, he doesn’t put it on everything, but when he wants his mayo, he needs that mayo. Winking smile

The same can be said of me when I’m out of oats, or greens, or some type fresh produce. So, in order to keep things happy around here, when I make my weekly grocery trip there are a handful of items that I make sure to purchase, or at least make sure we’ve got enough on hand to last us through the week.

I’ve seen a few of these types of posts recently, and I enjoyed seeing and reading about the different items others keep on hand, so I thought I’d throw my hat in the ring and share, too.

A big thanks to Jenn for hosting yet another delicious WIAW party – you should definitely go check out the goodness!

I’m going to divide items into a few different categories: things I always have “just to be safe” (I don’t necessarily use these items every week, but always have them just in case I want to whip up a batch of cookies..or somethin’ Smile), items I typically always have in the pantry, in the fridge, and in the freezer.

Sooo…let’s hop to it!

“Just to be Safe” items I always make sure to have:

  • flour
  • sugar/brown sugar
  • baking soda/powder
  • butter
  • eggs

Photo Apr 29, 5 35 32 PM

Eggs from my mom’s hens. How pretty is that blue egg?!

  • bananas – because, honestly, who doesn’t eat a banana everyday (or every other day)?
  • condiments: ketchup, mustard, mayo, ranch, etc.
  • spices: ALL.THE.SPICES – y’all, our spice cabinet is out of control – so much so that they are now taking over a drawer too! But, what better way to add some variety to a meal than with a little seasonings?!

Items I typically always have in the PANTRY:

  • oatmeal
  • peanut butter (although, sometimes I like to put it in the fridge)
  • whole wheat bagels
  • sweet potatoes
  • dried pasta
  • rice/brown rice/quinoa
  • canned beans
  • canned tomatoes – diced/sauce/paste
  • olive oil
  • almonds/ trail mix
  • coffee
  • dark chocolate for me/ Reece’s Cups or some type of bite size goodies for John

Photo Apr 29, 5 39 49 PM Photo Apr 29, 5 34 49 PMPhoto Apr 29, 5 33 27 PM

In the REFRIGERATOR:

  • milk/almond milk
  • tomatoes/cherry tomatoes
  • spinach
  • whatever other produce is in season or on sale – peppers, asparagus, broccoli, snap peas, etc.
  • lettuce
  • deli turkey
  • hummus – because it goes on or with pretty much everything, ya know?
  • Mtn. Dew for the husband (I have my coffee, he has his Dew)
  • strawberries – or whatever is in season, love my fresh fruits!
  • cheese – parmesan, cheddar, mozzarella

Photo Apr 29, 5 37 43 PM Photo Apr 29, 5 29 37 PM Photo Apr 29, 5 29 18 PM

In the FREEZER:

  • meat that was on sale – I try to keep some type of frozen meat in the freezer to pull out if we’re in a pinch for dinner.
  • overripe bananas – what do you do with your overripe bananas? I usually toss ‘em in the freezer to use later on for smoothies or banana bread…mmm!
  • bread that was on sale – if there’s a sale on bread, pitas, etc. I usually buy it up and toss it in the freezer until I need it.
  • leftovers that will be great to grab and reheat on a night when we need something quick – I typically try to keep at least 1 “freezer meal” in the freezer for those inevitable nights when you really haven’t had half a second to put a thought toward dinner and you and your husband/family are staaaarrvvinng. We’ve all had those nights, right? Please tell me it isn’t just me!
  • baked fries for an easy side item when I’m uncreative or in a hurry

Photo Apr 29, 5 30 29 PMPhoto Apr 29, 5 30 43 PM

I know that if I have most of these items in the house, I can usually whip up some type of a meal that will be pretty quick and relatively healthy. There’s nothing worse than having a busy day, eating crap for dinner, and going to bed feeling completely exhausted and icky! Plus, I want to keep my little family healthy – which of course, means a balance of greens, whole grains, lean proteins, healthy fats, and treats!

I think that about covers it, which means I probably left something out. Winking smile

Let’s chat…

1. I’m interested to know…what do you usually always have in your pantry? fridge? freezer?

2. What do I need to add to my list of “staples?”

3. What’s your favorite, easiest dinner to whip up with ingredients you have at home and time is short?

14 thoughts on “A MUST Around My Household

  1. Call me nosey, but I always love these type of posts. It’s so funny to get a look inside another person’s pantry/fridge/freezer! Joshua is the same way when it comes to mayo & ranch dressing. Oh boys!
    I can’t be w/o eggs, fruit/veggies, nut butter, tuna, bread!

  2. Oooo this post is such a fun idea!!! Our staples actually seem pretty similar – you have good taste. Haha. I, personally, always keep my frozen bananas in the freezer in a giant ziplock and I peel them beforehand so I don’t need to mess around with trying to peel an icy cold banana. Big time saver!!

  3. I am with you on the bananas! I always have a million in my kitchen I think. Oats, greens, almond milk, nut butter, and crackers are also staples in my kitchen. In fact, I think there are like 3 containers of nut butter in my fridge right now!

  4. I love this post- it’s like peeking at others’ shopping carts at check-out (but better!)…and now I sound like a creeper lol
    The fresh eggs- wow, that’s awesome (and yes, that blue egg is so pretty!)
    I totally agree with Jen, I do the same with my frozen bananas if they aren’t the kind that’ll fall apart.
    The only other staple I keep is frozen blueberries- it’s an obsession during the summertime (mixed with almond milk and stevia) 🙂

    • Oh, I totally creep on other people’s shopping carts, too! And those blueberries sound awesome, I’m definitely going to have to give that a try this summer.

  5. I always have egg whites, peanut butter, oats, and some kind of popcorn! The rest I switch in and out with different protein sources and veggies I like to make sure I have tons of variety!

  6. We seem to agree on many items. For me, in addition to oatmeal or even more important is having oat bran at hand as well as wheat bran, chia seeds, cocoa and almond butter. Coconut flour, too, unless I’m somewhere I can’t find it at any store.
    My favourite easy dish using staple ingredients is vegan chili using canned tomatoes, kidney beans, spices and whichever fresh vegetables I have at hand.
    One question about the frozen bananas. though: Aren’t they super hard to peel then? I usually slice, bag and freeze them. The first time I heard of freezing bananas for softserve years ago I stuck them in the freezer unpeeled, too, only to realize I wasn’t able to peel them afterwards. Is there a trick to that?

    • Cocoa! Yes! I usually keep that on hand too! Actually, I usually do peel my bananas first, before freezing them, but I guess I got lazy on a few. 😉 However, in order to peel the frozen bananas, I usually just pop them in the microwave for a few seconds, and then squeeze it out of the peel. Usually works great!

Leave a Reply

