Thinking Out Loud {4/24/14}

How is it Thursday already?! Of course, I’m glad it’s Thursday, because that means tomorrow is Frriiidaayy! But, I need this week to slow down! I’ve got lots to do before this weekend rolls around! I’ll fill you in on that in a bit.

Since today IS Thursday, I’m going to participate in Amanda’s Thinking Out Loud par-tay today. My brain is pretty much always a mumbled, jumbled mess, so this is perfect for me. Winking smile

1. I may or may not have a problem.

Photo Apr 23, 7 45 59 PM

And I may or may not have almost had a crisis on my hands the other day. Good thing I stopped by the store to restock my “stash.”

2. My sister came in town today to attend a “meet and greet” with my school system. In my dreams, she would get a job at my school and teach next door to me. Never say never, right?!

3. On my “mental health” day last week, I decided to paint my nails for the first time in forever. I LOVE the polish color! My sister gave it to me for Christmas, and I kinda forgot about it (gasp! I know…). It’s Essie- Lady Like.

Photo Apr 18, 7 19 11 PM

4. Why is that I can never have a leisurely drive to work in the mornings? I feel like no matter when I leave, I’m always in a race. Maybe it’s the competitor in me? I don’t know.

5. So, this weekend we are celebrating my mom’s 50th birthday! It’s kind of a surprise. She knows we’re having a family get together, but it’s going to be a bit bigger than she expects. Seeing as my dad is taking her to the beach for her birthday, and they headed down yesterday, I’m left in a bit in charge – with lots of help from the siblings of course. Hence the reason I need the week to slow down juuuuust a bit. I’ve got lots to do…including setting up a candy bar similar to this one I found on pinterest.

50th birthday candy bar

I’m also planning to make a board like this one…

50th Birthday party chalkboard. - modify for 70th birthday - this is cute idea!!! fun research for the kids to do! ;)

In addition to making some cupcakes, a banner, a book from all of us kids, among a few other odds and ends. (I know she won’t be able to read this, so, I’m safe posting it! ) I’d better get busy!

6. I wanted a quick workout to do the other day. I came across this one from Popsugar. I mistakenly thought it would be quick and painless. It was quick, but it was deceivingly more challenging than I assumed.

I'm exhausted just reading through this workout.

source

7. I typically don’t require much sleep (thanks dad), but I know I haven’t been getting enough lately. I always have good intentions of getting to bed early, but it just never happens. Recently I haven’t been falling asleep until about 11 or 11:30, and I’m back up at 5:15-5:30. Walking zombie much?

8. Does anyone watch American Idol any more? I had the TV on last night while I was prepping my lunch and waiting for John to get home from his tennis match, and American Idol happened to be on. I remember watching it religiously back when I was in high school/college. I haven’t seen it in years, but is there still the following that there was 5 or 6 years ago?

9. I’m a little hesitant to say this, but I think we’re officially past the cold weather. Woo Hoo!!! Every day this week, the highs have been in the 80s. Thank goodness! I’m ready for summer!

10. I don’t really have a tenth thing to add, but I really didn’t want to stop on #9, so…

Have a fabulous day friends!

Let’s Chat…

1. Do you chew gum? What’s your favorite brand/flavor?

2. What is a quick, yet challenging, workout you’ve done lately? I’m always in need of a quick, sweaty sesh.

3. How much sleep do you typically get?

14 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud {4/24/14}

  1. A girl after my own heart! Those 3 gum flavours are the ones that I -always- buy. I chew spearmint 90% of the time, watermelon when I’m in the mood for something sweeter, and peppermint on the odd occasion where I want something minty but I’m not in the mood for spearmint. Yup. I’ve got it all figured out 😉

    • Hahaha! We are total “gum twinkies!” Spearmint is my go-to and I love the watermelon for a little sweetness. And I just chew the peppermint to change it up every now and then. Don’t ever come between a girl and her gum!

  2. Haha, I can’t end on a number like 9, either. I can’t wait to hear about your mom’s party! It is going to be wonderful and she will love it all! That would be amazing if your sister got a job at the same school! Never say never 😉

  3. Ha Ha! I have quite an addiction to gum & mints. I really can’t go a day without or I feel like my world is crumbling LOL!

    I love all your pinterest ideas for your Mom’s 50th birthday. Can’t wait to hear how it turns out. Take lots of photos 🙂

  4. I never used to but I have been a gum chewing machine lately! My favorite is sour patch kids stride gum! So sweet and so good!

  5. I’m such a gum chewer. I use it as a tool for everything – when I need a refresher during the day, when I have writer’s block, when I want something sweet, when I get bored…I’m a big peppermint fan but I like sweet occasionally, too!

    Your mom’s birthday planning sounds like a lot of fun! Have a great time – she’ll definitely love it!

  6. I’m a little nervous to say it too, buuuut I think we’re past the cold winter weather now too. Though last year we had a huge snowstorm on May 2nd (16 inches overnight!!) but it seems like we just have cooler rainy days and warm days until summer now – SO happy about that!

  7. Pingback: Things I Can’t Live Without |

Leave a Reply

