Tips for Clear Communication

It has been beautiful around here the last 2 days. I could really get used to these sunny, temps in the high-70s/low-80s days. I better enjoy them, because before long it’ll be humid and hot!

Today, I want to talk about communication. As you probably know, communication is a vital  part of any relationship – spousal, friendship, family, co-worker, or business. Being someone who hates confrontation, I have made many mistakes while trying to communicate. Thankfully though, I’ve also learned a lot about communicating clearly through many of those snafus.

Communicating with your teen will take practice and may not come naturally.

source

1. Say EXACTLY what you mean. I tend to beat around the bush sometimes because I don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings or seem demanding. For example, at work I might say, “Do you know who is doing the vocabulary powerpoint for next week?” When I really mean, “Will you please do the vocabulary powerpoint for next week since I’ve done it for the past few weeks?” Or, I might say to my sister, “Don’t you think you might be uncomfortable in that outfit?” When in reality I might mean, “That’s not the most flattering outfit on you.” or “I’m not sure that’s the best outfit choice for this occasion.” Sound familiar to anyone?

2. Address an issue earlier rather than later. If there has been a misunderstanding between you and a friend, spouse, or co-worker, correct it as soon as you notice the issue. Otherwise, it’s only going to get worse. 99% of the time, it won’t go away. Likewise, if there’s a conversation you’ve been dreading having, suck it up and like Nike, “just do it.” I promise you’ll be glad it’s done and chances are it won’t be as bad as you think. If you’re like me, the anticipation is the worst part.

Every moment we have the opportunity to make things better or make things worse. Not communicating always makes things worse.

3. Your spouse is someone you trust, so you shouldn’t be timid in communicating. You married your husband/wife because you trust them right? Or at least, that’s one of the reasons you married him/her. So, while they may be unhappy about what you have to say in the short term, he or she loves you unconditionally and will get over it. If not, there may be other issues you may want to address. Which, in the long run, will be a good thing for your relationship.

Sarah & John, 3-12-11

relationship communication | true #relationship #Relationship Quotes

4. Writing your thoughts is sometimes the way to go. I can sometimes much more easily communicate my thoughts and feelings through writing than I can through my words. When I speak, sometimes words come out that I don’t want to say or emotions get in the way. However, when you write what you want to communicate, you have the chance to thoughtfully choose your words and have the luxury of time – meaning you can take the time to write exactly what it is you want to communicate.

5. Make sure what you want or need to say is positive and worth saying. Sometimes, there are things we should just not say. Like you’ve heard a million times, “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all,” or “Choose your battles.” Sometimes, it’s best to keep whatever it is that you feel you need to say, to yourself. If it isn’t positive OR constructive criticism, you may want to just let it go. Choose your battles – there are some things that just aren’t worth the fight.

3 Tips For Communicating In A Relationship --- “My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry” James 1:19 The first year of marriage is hard. You are just starting to really get to know each other and are probably seeing… Read More Here http://unveiledwife.com/3-tips-for-communicating-in-a-relationship/ #marriage #love

I hope you all have a Terrific Tuesday. Go Treat Yourself this Tuesday (thanks for the link-up, Becky!)!! I treated myself last week by taking Friday off of work, chalking it up to a much needed “Mental Health” day. For my mental well being, it was definitely necessary that I get away for a day. Winking smile

Photo Apr 17, 3 45 31 PM

Let’s Chat…

1. Do you have trouble communicating?

2. Tell me a tip you have for clear communication!

3. How have you treated yourself recently?

7 thoughts on “Tips for Clear Communication

  1. Great post- It’s so true communication is vital to all relationships. I like your first point. I try not to hurt people’s feelings by saying things in a different way, but it usually comes back to bite me, haha. PS isn’t it funny how you have to do more work to take time off than just going to work!?

    • I know, when I try to be nice and skirt around the issue, I’m usually wishing I’d just said what I meant to begin with!
      Oh my goodness…YES!! There are definitely times when I probably should have taken off, but just sucked it up and went to work because it’s so much work to prepare for a sub!

  2. I love this because I totally believe that communication is so so important! I am not afraid to talk to my spouse about anything, but I know a lot of people are, and I think that is so sad! Like you said, you should trust them more than anyone in this world! I hope you enjoyed your mental health day and feel totally rejuvenated for this week! 🙂

    • My mental health day was ahhhmazing! And I know what you mean, I feel like I can tell my husband anything, but I totally know of girls who don’t feel that way. It’s sad to me. BUT, nothing that can’t be worked on!

    • Same here! Then I’d mope around because he didn’t read my mine. We’ve come leaps and bounds since then. Now, I just say what I need to say, and whatever the issue with is usually dealt with and over! Much better that way, in my opinion!

Leave a Reply

