Some Old, Some New–WIAW {4/16/14}

I don’t know about you, but I’m super glad today is Wednesday! I swear, all day yesterday I kept thinking today was going to be Thursday.

Hopefully you all got your taxes mailed off before yesterday! I literally had to run to the post office on Monday while my class was at PE to mail off one last form that John needed mailed. He started his own corporation this past summer, and needed to send off some paperwork dealing with that. Nothing like waiting until the last minute, huh?!

Anyway, since today really is Wednesday, it’s time to share some eats from this past week in another edition of WIAW. If you’re unsure what What I Ate Wednesday is all about, check it out here. Jenn started this weekly get together so we can share recipes, meal ideas, and snacks. It is NOT meant as a way to compare your eats to others.

Breakfast

Breakfasts have remained the same. I cook up some oats, top them with a tablespoon or 2 of peanut butter, and stir in a freaking ton a hefty dose of sliced strawberries. Of course, there’s always coffee too, but that goes without saying. Winking smile

Photo Apr 08, 7 50 55 AM

Recycled photo – but I promise, it looked the same.

Lunch

Nothing much changed in the lunch department this week either – same ole thang.

I know I said I was going to challenge myself more in this area, but you guys, I’ve been so.tired recently, that I’m just doing what’s quick and easy. Since I can make this lunch on autopilot, I’ve just been going with it: whole wheat bagel, topped with hummus, deli turkey, lettuce, and tomatoes, eaten with triscuits, and a dark chocolate chip cookie. Simple. Delicious. A win in my book!

Photo Apr 12, 11 40 49 AM

Snack

I changed it up a bit this week. Instead of my beloved Luna Bar, I went with a chocolate brownie Clif Bar. So good! I knew I needed to add in a more calories to my day. I had this bar on hand and know it’s a little more calorie dense than the Luna bar, so I decided to give it a go. Pretty darn delicious!

Photo Apr 15, 6 35 01 PM

Dinner

I had an epic dinner fail due to some poor planning on my part. But, I rebounded pretty well, if I do say so myself!

I’d planned on making a new-to-me recipe, Courtney’s Crock Pot Stuffed Peppers. Well, I neglected to realize that they needed to cook on HIGH in the crockpot for 5-6 hours. Seeing as I don’t ever get home from work before 4pm, and would rather NOT eat dinner at 9 or 10pm (I’d actually like to be in bed then!), I had to improvise.

While I was bummed about not having the stuffed peppers, I decided to see if I could replicate the taste and texture on the stove top. Instead of stuffing the peppers with diced onions, diced tomatoes, and ground turkey, I cooked all the “insides” of the stuffed peppers in a skillet on the stove. I then diced up the peppers and tossed them in the skillet along with the other ingredients.

Photo Apr 15, 7 41 53 PM  Photo Apr 15, 7 59 39 PM

I served the mixture on top of rice, instead of having the rice inside of the peppers, along with the other ingredients. I must say, while it wasn’t a stuffed pepper, I was delightfully pleased with the outcome!

Photo Apr 15, 8 03 28 PM

I also had a salad topped with slivered almonds, feta cheese, and balsamic vinaigrette dressing.

Snack

For a few extra needed calories, I had a snack before bed of a handful (or 3) of trail mix.

And that, friends was my day of eats. A few new items mixed with some of my favorite go-to’s.

Let’s Chat…

1. What’s something NEW you’ve tried this week?

2. What are some of your go-to meals and snacks?

9 thoughts on “Some Old, Some New–WIAW {4/16/14}

  1. This week I tried gluten free cinnamon raisin toast topped with some reduced fat cheddar cheese and my oh my was this delicious!
    My go to meals include tuna and spinach salads they require no cooking and I can just grab and go 🙂

Leave a Reply

