A Sad Return to Monday–Weekend Wrap-Up {3/31/14}

How in the world is it the last day in March already?! Bring on the warm weather!

Sadly, today marks my return to the real world after a week of doing what I wanted, when I wanted, how I wanted…you get the picture. Spring Break is over, and it’s back to work for this heartbroken happy teacher. Despite the impending return to work looming over my head (ok, perhaps I’m being a bit overdramatic Winking smile), I managed to have a pretty terrific weekend!

Let’s back up to Friday. I mentioned in my that I had a haircut appointment Friday afternoon. Well, every time I go to get it cut, I end up going back and forth about should I? or shouldn’t I? go big and cut it off. Go big or go home, right? Well…

Photo Mar 28, 12 33 54 PM   Photo Mar 28, 2 21 54 PM

Yikes!!! But, I kinda love it, for now anyway. I figured, what the heck…it’s hair, if I hate it, it’ll grow back, so why not!?

I knew it had gotten long, but I had no idea quite, how long.

Photo Mar 28, 3 41 29 PM

I was able to donate a good bit of my hair to Locks of Love (this organization uses real hair to provide wigs for cancer patients going through radiation and chemotherapy), which I am super excited about!

Friday night, my husband ordered out from one of his favorite places.

Photo Mar 28, 8 08 59 PM

I had to laugh when I saw the take-out box. A “Buff Box”? If it works, I know what I’m ordering from now on. Winking smile  Ok, it was Buffalo Chicken Fingers. But, still. Funny, right?

Saturday started out pretty chilly and rainy around here. Nevertheless, my day began with a delicious bowl of oats and a Pilates + HIIT video via Fitness Blender <—check it out if you haven’t yet. It’s a great resource for at home workouts. There are TONS of different types of workouts for all levels, varying styles, and many “no equipment needed” routines.

Photo Mar 29, 8 36 37 AM

John and I would up venturing out to stop by an art festival that was happening in a park downtown.

FCAF2014Poster680

There were some cute things, but, nothing I couldn’t live without. We then had a little lunch date, followed by getting some errands out of the way. One of them included picking up some new Chaco sandals for my 15 year old brother. His feet are HUGE! I have a feeling he isn’t quite done growing yet!

Photo Mar 29, 3 20 29 PM

We ended our night with some March Madness on the couch.

After church on Sunday, we headed out to the local tennis courts. I’ve mentioned before that John is a tennis pro. Well, I know I’m athletic enough to learn and do well at tennis, I just hate the learning part of it. I just want to be good already! Ha!

I then had to work on lesson plans and entering grades for an hour or two. Not the most fun Sunday afternoon activity, but the cute lesson plan template I found via Pinterest definitely helps some. Winking smile

Photo Mar 29, 7 49 16 PM

The rest of the evening included getting ready for the week, a little meal prep, catching some more March Madness basketball, and watching some of our favorite shows…Amazing Race and Eric and Jessie (it’s flipping hilarious if you’ve never seen it! Comes on E! on Sunday nights).

 Photo Mar 29, 7 39 01 PM 

It was indeed a very Marvelous weekend, which definitely improves the odds that Monday will be Marvelous as well!

Let’s Chat…

1. Do you fill out a bracket for March Madness? I do! It’s totally shot now, and was more of a stab in the dark than a real, educated, thought out process. But, hey, it was fun!

2. When’s the last time you made a major change to your appearance? Hair cut, color, etc.

3. Tell me the best part of your weekend!

5 thoughts on “A Sad Return to Monday–Weekend Wrap-Up {3/31/14}

  1. I’ve never seen Eric and Jessie before, but I have heard awesome reviews. My bracket was looking good until yesterday… and sadly it’s broken since Mich & Mich. St both decided they wanted to lose. UGH! LOL. At least I still have FL in (who I have winning).

  2. Your hair cut is so cute! Better to get it cut the first time then end up going back a week later like I always do!

  3. Your hair is so cute! Love it! Hope Monday treated you well
    I love watching the games. It’s not a big deal where I am now, but I’m sure I’ll be “educated” when I move to the States this fall 🙂
    My drastic change has been giving my body a reprieve to get back to being healthy (it might look “good”, but it isn’t good for it). It’s a complex, counter-intuitive thing, but it’s a change that needs to happen! 🙂

    • Thanks, friend! I 100% agree with you – giving yourself a break is so necessary, but sometimes very hard to do. Good for you for doing what you need to!

Leave a Reply

