What’s in my Fridge and Pantry {WIAW 3/19/14}

Happy Hump Day!

Today, I’m going to put a little twist on WIAW. Since my meals – especially breakfast, lunch, and snacks – are relatively the same on weekdays, I didn’t want to bore you. So, today is going to be “What’s in My Fridge and Pantry Wednesday.” Smile

Please excuse the messiness you’re about to witness. But come on, who’s refrigerator is neat 100% of the time? Definitely not mine!

photo 2 (3)

First up… lots of strawberries (can you say sale?), the husbands gatorade, and all his left over salsas from when he picked up Moe’s the other night. Think he went a little overboard?! Ha!

photo 1 (3)

Next up, some eggs…side note – my mom gave me that cute egg holder and I LOVE it! I like that I can see how many eggs I have left. We’ve also got some defrosted chicken tenderloins and the husband’s breakfast that the can grab, heat up, and go in the mornings (egg and bacon biscuits).

photo 2 (4)

So, my husband drinks soft drinks. It looks like he drinks them all the time. In reality, he probably does have 1 a day. BUT, you know what, we all have our “unhealthy” habits. Coffee all.the.time. anyone?

photo 3 (3)

In the veggie drawer… lettuce, tomatoes, miniature sweet bell peppers, hummus, and feta cheese.

photo 3 (4)

In the door we’ve got some milk, lots of condiments, and my Crystal Light mix. I love drinking this stuff! Like I said, we all have our habits that aren’t the healthiest.

photo 4 (4)

Another shelf in the door…my husband loves his sauces and condiments. It’s actually quite humorous! (Are you seeing a common theme in my fridge? Winking smile)

Moving onto the Pantry…

photo 1 (5)

Here’s the good stuff…oats, sweet potatoes, whole wheat bagels, trail mix, peanut butter, and a box of Luna bars hiding in the back.

photo 2 (5)

We’ve also got some whole wheat pasta, grits, and store brand Bisquick.

photo 3 (5)

And finally, some canned goods such as chicken broth, soup that the husband bought one day and has never eaten (gotta love lugging him to the grocery store!), some break crumbs hiding back there, and my favorite Kashi dark chocolate and oats cookies.

While it’s always fun to peek inside the lives of others (or is that just me? Winking smile), my purpose for sharing what’s in my fridge and pantry is to show that we’re not all perfect. I don’t eat 100% clean 100% of the time, nor do I claim to. I do what I can, budget, and time allowing.

There are some days when no matter how well I plan or how much I try, a home-cooked meal prepared with fresh, local veggies and organic meat just isn’t going to happen because I’m tired, something else came up, etc. There are also budgetary constraints. Let’s be real…it can be expensive to eat “healthy.” And by healthy I mean, generally eating lots of fruits, veggies, whole wheat breads, and those types of things. It’s much cheaper to buy the foods full of preservatives and other manufactured ingredients. While I TRY to stay away from these things most of the time, sometimes my budget just doesn’t allow wiggle room. So, at times, I do go with, for example, the pre-packaged frozen meats. And you know what, that’s ok. Boy, I’d hate to look back at some of the things I ate growing up! I survived then, and I think I’ll be fine now too. 

And you know what? Sometimes, dad-gum-it, a can of soup (FULL preservatives, sodium, and all that good stuff) and a piece of buttered WHITE toast is totally where it’s at and what my taste buds want. And, there’s nothing wrong with that! As with everything, it’s all about moderation! I do what I can for my health and the health of my husband, and don’t “sweat the small stuff.”

Let’s Chat…

1. What are some things currently in your fridge or pantry?

2. What’s your view on buying organic, local, etc.? Like I said, I try to buy those things if budget allows and they’re available, but if it no, no biggie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ion. 

2 thoughts on “What’s in my Fridge and Pantry {WIAW 3/19/14}

  1. Oh gosh I share a fridge with 3 other people so my fridge is full of our own taste buds! I have some egg whites, mustard, veggies, and tons of spinach!
    I think buying local is great! But I have to say I don’t do it that often, buying frozen food is so much cheaper and lasts longer so that is what I stick to!

  2. This was such a fun twist on the standard WIAW post! I really enjoyed taking a look inside both your fridge & pantry (nosy maybe? LOL). Who cares about the soda, if that’s the unhealthy habit that your man has.. than I’d say he’s perfectly NORMAL! 🙂

    It’s funny you mentioned how not everyone keeps a clean fridge. Well….. I actually scrub mine once a week (at least), and try to keep me in order as much as possible.

    Fridge >> Organic vegs/fruits, milk, eggs, leafy greens, sweet potatoes, salsa, ketchup
    Pantry >> Quest Bars, nut butter, quinoa, lentils

Leave a Reply

