Whoops…It Happens!

It seems that once again, I got too busy over the weekend and Monday to get a post written up. I honestly had good intentions, but with a high in the 70’s Saturday and Sunday, and a full day Monday (and the fact that it now stays daylight a little longer) I just ran out of time! Whoops!

So, once again, please forgive me. Ah, well…it happens, right?!

This weekend was another gorgeous one around here. Absolutely beautiful, sunny days and highs in the low 70’s – perfection, I tell ya!

photo 1 (2)

Don’t get too jealous though, although today’s high IS 75 (!!!), we’re back to highs barely making it out of the 40’s later this week. And, for us folks down here in Alabama, that’s a tad on the chilly side.

Friday, when John got home from work, we ran a few errands that needed running, and grabbed take-out on our way back home. Neither of us was really feeling eating out. Friday night, chilling on the couch, in my opinion, is awesome – since it means I’m probably in my pajamas, with my man, eating delicious food, and watching good TV/movies.

Saturday began with a 10 lb. Slim Down workout via YouTube. Courtney inspired me to look them up, and I must say, I’m hooked. It was relatively quick and had me moving and sweating, A+ workout in my book!

I then rode with John to get his hair cut and we spent the afternoon searching for some new chairs to go with our new table. We are also on the lookout for some new patio furniture. We *think* we’ve found something we like, so hopefully we’ll order it soon.

While we were out, we also picked up a lattice for the side of the house on which I plan to grow a hibiscus or mandevilla vine. In addition to the trellis, we purchased some hanging baskets for our new posts and a shepherd’s hook from which to hang the bird feeder.

photo 3 (2)

photo 4 (2)

The birdfeeder used to be way closer to the house, and it made a HUGE mess! We were always tracking birdseed in the backdoor. John loves the birds, so I didn’t want to do away with it, but this solution is so much better!

Sunday, per usual, began with church. Our Sunday School class usually tries to provide breakfast. We ladies sign up for a date to bring breakfast and just rotate through. Sunday it was my turn, and this is what I decided on making.

photo 2

Pancake, whipped cream, and strawberry trifle. It was a hit! And SO super easy to throw together!

photo 1

On the way home, we stopped by the grocery store to grab our groceries for the week. After lunch, we headed to the tennis courts. John was meeting some girls who he helps to coach, and then playing with some guys from his office.

photo 2 (2)

While he coached and played, I also made a quick Target run – and of course bought things I don’t need – Including this Justin’s PB and Dark chocolate cup. Mmm! Dark chocolate is my favorite! Definitely treated myself to this! <—Hop on over to Becky’s Blog check out how others are treating themselves, because we all deserve it.

photo 3

I then returned to the courts to enjoy the outdoors and pretty weather and get a little magazine reading done.

photo 4

I wound down the evening by completing my lesson plans, preparing for the field trip we took Monday, doing lots of meal prep for the week, and then hanging with my guy on the couch watching The Amazing Race. We love it – so neat to see all the different countries all over the world and get a taste of their cultures.

And…ummph. I was totally feeling the fact that when my alarm went off yesterday morning it was really 4am, not 5. My body isn’t quiiiiite adjusted to Daylight Savings Time yet, you?

Yesterday consisted of a field trip to see a science show.

photo 5 (2)

After work I completed another 10 lb. Slimdown workout after school, a walk with John when he got home from work, and The Bachelor finale. I’m so glad this season is over! I’m not sure Juan Pablo is who they thought he was when they signed him up.

Today, I’m ready for another full day!

Let’s Chat…

1. What did you do this weekend?

2. What is your (and your significant other’s) favorite TV show?

3. Best breakfast you’ve made in a while?

16 thoughts on “Whoops…It Happens!

  1. Justin’s peanut butter cups are so good! So much better than Reese! I absolutely love the amazing race too! I have been going back and re-watching the seasons lately ! It would be so fun to be on the show 🙂

    • Dark chocolate anything is totally my fave! I was pumped to find Justin’s cups in dark chocolate. Agreed…I’d LOVE to be on The Amazing Race. What an experience!

  2. I am not a Bachelor fan – never watched it before – but I was cracking up reading twitter and facebook posts about the guy. Apparently he was quite the character! I may need to start watching next season!!

    • Quite the character doesn’t even begin to describe him. Ha! I always seemed to get sucked in to the show, despite my best intentions. It is always good for some drama and a laugh though!

  3. I am definitely so over this season of ‘The Bachelor’ and am looking forward to ‘The Bachelorette’!

    I am jealous of what I assume is y’all’s backyard! We have 2 dogs and I would love to get out of our apartment and into a house with a fenced in yard! 🙂

    • I know, I’m so glad Andi is the bachelorette. I think she’s cute and seems very down to earth. Yes! It is our backyard, and we absolutely love it! We lived in an apartment for a year and a half, so I definitely know what you mean about wanting a yard.

  4. I”ve never seen pancake trifle before, but now I want to make it every single weekend. LOL! Glad you and your man had an awesome weekend. Oh & girl, do not apologize for not getting a post up. Life happens, & when the weather is that nice I don’t blame you for soaking it all in.

  5. I’ve had those Justin’s PB cups before – so good!!
    My husband and I love to watch Modern Family and Jimmy Fallon together, and we used to watch Dexter together too 🙂

    • I’ve never seen Dexter, but we LOVE Modern Family!! I love Jimmy Fallon as the host of The Tonight Show. I think he’s hilarious, but I can’t stay up that late! I need to start recording it.

Leave a Reply

