In a Perfect World

In a perfect world, I’d get 8-9 hours of sleep a night

Reality: I get 5-6.

In a perfect world, I’d do my devotion each morning to begin my day on the right foot.

Reality: sadly, I rarely start my day this way, although I do spend my time in the shower talking with God.

In a perfect world, I would have time to do this chore chart daily.

Reality: I clean on the weekends and spend the week wrecking what I cleaned.

In a perfect world, I would always use up all my leftovers.

Reality: I throw let food chill out in the fridge and throw out more than I care to admit.

In a perfect world, I would get a great workout in 5-6 days a week and would do a great stretch before and after.

Reality: I get in a workout about 4 days a week. But, I have to confess, they’re not all stellar. And I RARELY stretch like I should. And by rarely, I mean never. Check out Heather’s post for a little stretching motivation.

In a perfect world I would own all these spring outfits.

         
           

Reality: I don’t own any of them, but maybe I will buy some new spring clothes sometime soon. I’ve got a major case of spring fever!

In a perfect world, I’d have a home cooked meal on the table each night and we’d look like this happy family, nightly.

Reality: I get a home cooked meal on the table 3-4 nights a week. But, more nights than not, sadly, we usually look like this couple.

In a perfect world, my appetite would always be on cue and dependable.

Reality: Sometimes I have zero appetite all day, and it makes it hard to eat what I need to eat to fuel my body.

In a perfect world, I’d get together with girlfriends regularly and we’d whisper, share secrets, and eat chocolate.

Reality: I don’t have a close group of girlfriends at the moment. It’s something I’m praying about and for. I think girl time is important.

In a perfect world, my mornings would be slow, relaxing, refreshing, and ready me for the day ahead.

Reality: I’m usually running around like a crazy person, throwing things together, praying I don’t forget something, and rushing out the door.

In a perfect world, I’d learn these lessons once and for all.

        
  

 

  

Reality: I seem to never learn these lessons. And seem to need re-teaching on a daily basis. Praise the Lord for his grace, understanding, and unconditional love.

I could keep going, but I’ll spare you. 😉

While all these things would be nice, I must tell you that I DO love the imperfect life that I’ve been blessed to live. I’ve been given countless blessings, and don’t want to seem ungrateful.

I’m just doing a little Thinking out Loud.

Let’s Chat…

YOUR turn!!! Tell me something you’d love in a perfect world, and something that is your reality.

10 thoughts on “In a Perfect World

  1. I can definitely say ditto to a lot of these, but I do love what you added in near the end. I think the idea of living a perfect life will only lead to disappointment because, frankly, perfection is impossible. And instead of striving for it, we should be living our wonderfully imperfect lives in radical amazement — being, not only grateful, but happy for all that we’ve been given. Because like you said — God blesses us with so much 🙂

    • I think you hit the nail on the head, “the idea of living a life of perfection will only lead to disappointment.” So, so true!!! Instead, we just need to focus on living the fabulous lives we’ve been given!

  2. great post! in a perfect world i’d cook way more than i do! but recently i haven’t… and we’ve had frozen meals and eaten out way more than we should!

    • My mom always had awesome dinners on the table most nights when I was growing up. She did a great job providing us with balanced meals…meat, veggies, etc. But she tells a story about when we were growing up and she was complaining to a girlfriend that she needed to go find what she would make for dinner. Her friend said her family was having hot dogs. My mom said that she realized then and there that sometimes hot dogs for dinner is perfectly fine. 🙂 And so are frozen meals! Especially when you’re pregnant. 😉

    • You’re right, we definitely can’t stress over the imperfections that are bound to happen each day. We just have to accept it, enjoy it for what it is, and move on.

  3. Oh, all the things I’d do in a perfect world … Be more organized, keep my room tidied up all of the time, never postpone things until ‘tomorrow’ and always be on time. But like you I’m thankful for my perfectly imperfect life [most of the time] and it’s relieving to know others are the same way. Awesome post!

  4. Such a great post, Sarah! I can agree w/ you a few of these. I too wish I had close friends to hang w/ in Kuwait, but the truth is I really don’t know anyone. For the most part I’m okay w/ this, but sometimes it’d be nice to go on a lunch date while Joshua’s busy at work. oh well – such is life!

    If I lived in a perfect world I’d – hire someone to clean my bathroom. If theres one chore I hate, that would be it. LOL

  5. Pingback: Good good links #28 | Let's get living

Leave a Reply

