Quesadilla Casserole – WIAW {2/19/14}

Welcome to Wednesday! So glad to be half-way through the week already.

If you haven’t chimed in, I’d love to hear your thoughts on yesterday’s post about finding my own fitness style.

Seeing as most of my meals throughout the week are similar from day to day, I won’t bore you with the same ole thing you saw last week. Trust me, it’s all pretty much the same. I’m also happy to report that I’m still adding in some healthy fats, facing food fears, and taking baby steps. 

Today is going to be a long one, since I’m driving to my therapy and nutritional appointments after school, which are a little over an hour away. But, I wanted to pop in quickly to share a new-to-me recipe that I tried out last night, and I think you’ll enjoy!

Last night for dinner, I made a Quesadilla Casserole. It was delicious and something that both John and I enjoyed. It’s a meatless dish, however, you could definitely toss in some grilled chicken or steak to beef it up or if your man likes meat in his meals! 🙂

Quesadilla Casserole

Ingredients

1 tablespoon olive oil

3/4 cup chopped onion

1 15 oz can black beans + 1 15 oz. can canelli or kidney beans, drained, 1/2 cup liquid reserved

1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernels, thawed

1 tsp. parsley flakes

3 10-inch whole wheat tortillas

8 ounces monterey jack cheese, shredded

cumin, taco, chili powder to taste

1 cup store-bought enchilada sauce

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees . In a skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the onion and cook for 5 minutes. Add black beans and mash into a chunky paste. Stir in the reserved liquid.

Grease pie plate or round cake pan. In a bowl, combine the corn, parsley, spices, and remaining beans. Place a tortilla in the skillet and spread with 1/3 cup mashed black bean mixture. Top with 2/3 cup corn-bean mixture and 1/2 cup cheese. Press to compress the layers. Repeat with the remaining tortillas, mashed black beans, corn-bean mixture and cheese. Bake until the cheese is melted and the casserole is heated through, about 30 minutes. Serve with the enchilada sauce.

**Adapted from this Rachel Ray recipe**

Not the prettiest photo, but it sure was delicious! (Head over to Jenn’s blog, Peas and Crayons to check out more deliciousness from other bloggers participating in WIAW!)

And with that, I’ve gotta run. I hope you all have a Happy Hump Day!

2 thoughts on “Quesadilla Casserole – WIAW {2/19/14}

Leave a Reply

