Thursday Thoughts #4

Hi lovely ladies (and gentlemen?)!

I’m exhausted, so I’m going to keep this short and sweet.

After school on Wednesday, I had therapy and nutritionist appointments to continue in my recovery efforts for my disordered eating. I love meeting with these 2 incredible women God has placed in my life to help me and guide me through this journey, but I DON’T love the hour and a half commute there and the hour and a half back. BLAH!

Anyway, I’m beat. So, since Thursday is for Thinking Out Loud, here it goes.

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. I’m totally digging quinoa lately. This Quinoa, black beans, corn, and spinach recipe is to die for!

wpid-featuredImage.png

So is this Cheesy Greek-style Quinoa. Both have made appearances around here over the past week.

wpid-featuredImage.png

source

2. Printed leggings might just be the “yoga/sweat pants” of the real world. My mother – in – law bought me 2 paris this past weekend and I have worn them both already this week. Seriously the most comfortable “pants” (can you even call them that?) I have.

photo

3. I have morning bus duty at school this week and it totally stinks. I have to be there, signed in, and at my “spot” (the area I’m in charge of monitoring) by 7am. On the other hand though, I get lots of grading done while I’m “watching” the kids. Hmmm..I figure they’ve been at this whole school thing for 1/2 a year now. They should know the drill.

4. I’m totally sleep deprived this week. Maybe that’s why this 4 day week is dragging by? Seriously, 4 day weeks are awesome, except when you have to cram 5 days into 4. Boo.

5. Tomorrow is class picture day! Funny how things change…I could totally care less about: my outfit, my hair, my jewelry, etc., etc. Ask my 5th grade self, and class picture day was second only to yearbook picture day in terms of looking *awesome* 😉 

6. I’ve been getting the cutest texts with pictures of my sweet niece. She is such a doll! I can’t wait to get my hands on her again! Aunt Sarah loves you Kennedy!

IMG_2329

7. Since I’m currently not running or doing any high intensity workouts, I sometimes have a hard time deciding what exactly I want to do when it comes to working out. I’ve really been loving pilates and barre type workouts. Do you have any suggestions of other workouts that would be good? Or DVDs that would be beneficial?

8. Speaking of exercise, I sometimes fall into the “Comparison Trap” that we all know about. It’s hard for me to keep in mind that intense exercise is not MY healthy right now, especially when other are posting sweaty workouts and pictures.

And, since I’m no longer making sense to myself, and since I have a super early wake up time…I better run!

Have a super Thursday friends!

1. What do you remember about school picture day?

2. Lastest fashion trend you’re loving OR hating? totally loving leggings, boots, and scarves!

6 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts #4

  1. Leggings, boots, and oversized sweaters will always be one of my favourite trends. Now if only we could go back to the fall so that I don’t have to cover up all that gorgeousness with a big bulky coat to prevent myself from freezing 😆 And thank you for making me crave melty cheese like crazy at 5 AM 😛

    • Ugh, I feel you on the cold weather, although, being from Alabama, I’m guessing my big coat doesn’t begin to compare to yours! 😉 Sorry about that 5am cheese craving. Perhaps you can satisfy it with a cheese stick and delay the craving until you can make that Cheesy Quinoa dish…seriously, to.die.for. Thanks, as always, for hosting such a fun get together each week!

  2. Those leggings are so cute! And I love those two tops as well. Leggings really are the perfect “pants.” You can dress em up or down, and they’re always super comfortable!

    Your niece is SO adorable!

    Whenever I do a workout at home, a Jillian Michael’s DVD always does it for me. They’re easy to follow and you’ll really get a good workout! She’s intense! 🙂

  3. I am started to hop on the printed leggings band wagon but I am having a hard time finding a pair that actually fits right without the crotch hanging down to my knees or something weird like that! Suggestions? I’m a teacher too and I have an outdoor duty 3 days a week in the morning. However, it was -7 here with the windchill so I did NOT stand outside, I stood in the little lobby and just looked out the door as parents dropped kids off. My thought process is the same as yours- they should know how to get out of their parent’s care and walk down the sidewalk to the door by now!!

    • Oh wow! -7!? Yeah, there’s no way I’d be standing out in that. That’s just uncalled for to expect you to stand in it. 😉
      As far as the leggings go, I’m pretty tall (5’10”) so I usually have a hard time finding things that are long enough. The leggings my mother in law bought me are actually the first I’d ever tried on, so I sadly I don’t have much advise to offer you about those. So sorry! I’ve heard Old Navy has some cute ones though! Good luck, and let me know if you find some!

Leave a Reply

