WIAW {1/8/14}

Happy Hump Day!

I must admit, I’m completely thrown off as to what day it is. After 2 weeks of Christmas break, and a very strange start to the week (in-service work day Monday, school cancelled Tuesday, and a 10 am start Wednesday), I am all kinds of confused!

But, since it does seem to be Wednesday, that means it’s time for a little What I Ate Wednesday Tuesday. The following are my eats from yesterday.

Please be advised that I do not necessarily post every bite that I consume. 

Breakfast – 8:15 am

Since I did not have work today (thank you arctic freeze!) I slept until about 7am. After waking up and doing a few odds and ends around the house, my tummy was rumbling. Since I seem to be in a rut, I once again had oats mixed with a hefty serving a strawberries. Of course, there was an embarrassing amount of coffee consumed too.

photo 1

Pre berry addition

photo 2

I was trying out my new bowl/mug my sis gave me for Christmas after seeing that I carry my breakfast to school everyday in a big tupperware because it has a lid and I don’t want to carry our nice bowls into work. She’s such a sweetie. 😉

After breakfast I was able to get in a sweaty circuit workout via the Nike Training Club. I first learned about Nike Training Club when reading Julie’s blog. If you haven’t tried it, you should! It’s a free app, and it allows you to choose your fitness level as well as they type of workout you’d like to do.

Lunch – 12:40 isn

Recycled photo, but lunch was the same, and was also enjoyed on the couch. Got to live it up while I can; tomorrow it’s back to cafeteria tables and little round stools that hurt your tush. 😉

I also enjoyed a Kashi cookie. SO good! My favorite is the Oatmeal and Dark Chocolate.

Snack – 4 pm

After a trip to TJ Maxx, it was time for a snack. Even though I wasn’t necessarily that hungry, I knew a needed to eat a little something. You guessed it, another Luna bar. This one went unpictured, oops.

After my snack, I got a little baking done. I had some bananas that were getting a little too ripe. So I decided to bake up some banana bread, in muffin form, with chocolate chips. Does it get any better?

I wanted to forgo my go-to recipe, in leu of trying out a new recipe a stumbled across on Katie’s blog. It looked to easy to pass up.

Of course, we’ll eat some, but since there’s just 2 of us, John’s going to take the rest to work. The guys in the office will have no trouble getting rid of them, I’m sure.

Dinner – 7:45

We’ve gotten into a bad habit about eating late. Time just gets away! I need to fix that ASAP.

Dinner was a new recipe, Cajun Chicken Pasta on the Lighter Side, that I’ve never made before, but was super excited to try out. Since my husband loves all things spicy, he was looking forward to it too.

This recipe came together easily and relatively fast.

It did not disappoint! We deemed it a definite repeater, although, now that I see the photo, it doesn’t look that great. It was  though!

I found the recipe via Pinterest, but it came from Gina. If you’re looking for a new recipe to try, you should definitely check this one out.

Nighttime Snack – 9:20

Since I’m fighting my disordered eating (post coming soon) I knew I needed a few more calories to end my day. It was a hefty handful of trail mix for the win.

A big thanks to Jenn, over at Peas and Crayons, for hosting the WIAW party each week. Hop on over to check it out.

What’s a yummy new recipe you’ve tried recently?

Do you like to bake? What’s your favorite recipe to make?  I love baking and am always looking for new recipes. I’d love to read any recipes you want to share!

4 thoughts on “WIAW {1/8/14}

Leave a Reply

