Weekend Round-Up #1

This weekend was BBLLLAAAAAHH. Let me explain…

Back up to Christmas Eve – before the Christmas Whirlwind began – I woke up with a horrible sore throat. You know, the kind where it feels like you’re swallowing knives? Anyway, since that was the only symptom I really had, I went on with my day.

Confession: I’m the person who takes thinks I can get over any sickness if I just keep ignoring it. Throat hurts? It’ll probably go away soon. Stuffy nose? Just keep blowing it, and it’ll go away eventually. Headache? Keep doing what you’re doing, and I’m sure it’ll see itself to the door soon.

Well, needless to say, the sore throat didn’t go away, it just got worse. Yesterday, I sucked it up and admitted I was wrong…and sat in the waiting room at the local walk-in medical clinic for 2+ HOURS!!! (hence, the reason I don’t go to the doctor). After a marathon waiting sesh, I finally saw the doctor (for like 2 minutes, I might add). The real reason I went in was because after doing a little googling of my symptoms, I was afraid I might have the flu. Turns out, I just have a really bad respiratory (sinus) infection.

These 2 have become my bestest friends:

      

After the doctor’s visit, we proceeded to eat lunch and lounge around the house all day. The hubs isn’t feeling so hot either. 😦 Resting is NOT something I’m good at. And seeing I also got a steroid shot at the doctor, I was feeling much better! But, my sweet (and usually annoyingly correct) husband insisted that I continue to rest and not overdo it.

So, the rest of the day looked something like this:

At least the weather was conducive to a nice, lazy day. 
 

Hot tea in a Christmas gift from one of my sweet kiddos. Yep, it’s corny and I kinda like it.

Confession: I usually don’t use, and end up giving away most of the stuff I get as Christmas gifts from the kids. Gasp!

Shortly after this picture, I had to step away because I was about to quit. Why do I love to do things that frustrate me?

I woke up feeling much better Sunday. I wasn’t necessarily hungry for breakfast, but knowing that good food heals the body, I had no trouble finishing off a bowl of oats topped with lotsa berries.

The remainder of the morning was spent watching Say Yes to the Dress and browsing blogs and pinterest.

Around noon, our tummies started rumbling. The hubby didn’t quite know what he wanted for lunch, since someone around here needs to go to the grocery story.

I began scouring the pantry and fridge, and came up with a mighty yummy lunch if I do say so myself.

   

That’s John’s plate. I can’t stomach soft drinks very much due to tummy issues. Sad day! 😦

The puzzle has yet to be finished. Ha..who’m I kidding. I’ve attempted this puzzle before, and ended up putting it back on the box because it sat unfinished on the coffee table so long!

Sunday evening was spent food prepping for the week, watching some tv from our ridiculously overloaded DVR and hanging with my favorite guy.

Hope you had a wonderful weekend and are in store for a Marvelous Monday!

(since NYE and New Year’s Day fall in the middle of the week, hopefully you have a a day or two off of work! :-))

Thanks Katie for hosting the par-tay again this week!
1. What was the BEST part of your weekend?
 
2. When was the last time you were sick? Do you go to the doctor or try to tough it out?
4 thoughts on “Weekend Round-Up #1

  1. I was sick at the beginning of the school year – probably because of the kids! Haha. My entire family is sick right now, except me.

Leave a Reply

