Brain Dump–Thinking Out Loud {2/6/14}

Well, it’s that time again friends, time for some Thinking Out Loud…hosted each week by the lovely Amanda over at Running With Spoons.

I’ve had SO much going through my brain recently. I love these random posts where I can do a “brain dump.”

1. Thank you so much for your feedback on this post. It seems like lots of you fall into the same trap I do…trying to do it all, which in turn leads to lots of worry and exhaustion. Gees, I need a reminder to let it go daily hourly!

2. I have a serious problem. I started folding this laundry on Monday. It’s still not folded, in fact, I haven’t touched it once. Oops. Just practicing what I preach?? Can’t do it all! Winking smile

pic 5

3. This week is Read Across America week. It coincides with Dr. Suess’s birthday (March 2nd) each year. To celebrate, we are encouraged to invite special guest readers to our classrooms. Look who came to read to my class yesterday! My mom and brother!! The kids were SO excited and so was I! Mom read Horton Hears a Who. We then watched the movie, during which my mom and brother helped a few kids at a time make a pencil craft designed to look like a clover from the book. Seriously too cute!

Picture one

pic 2

4. Speaking of my brother, I’m pretty sure he’s grown 6 inches since I’ve seen him! The baby of the family is officially taller than me. Sad smile Not such a baby anymore, I suppose.

pic 3

5. John had his first tennis match last night! He’s playing in a local league, and excited to get back to playing competitively. Since it’s chilly and damp outside, I sweetly told him I’d be his cheerleader on a warmer day!

6. I did a barre workout last night via Brittany over at My Own Balance. Oh.My. It was a fabulous workout, and I’m still feeling the effects. Yowwwch!

7. So, you guys have heard of the recent scam that happened at Target over the holidays? Where a lot of their credit card machines were compromised? Well, I got an email from my bank yesterday telling me that my card was potentially compromised, thus they are issuing new cards to all those potentially effected. I’m BEYOND grateful that they watch out for their clients, however, I’m a little bummed that I’m going to have to learn a new PIN number and I’ve got to re-set all my automated payments with the new card number/exp. date/security code. Kinda stinks. I hope I don’t forget one!!

8. Try these. Seriously.

9. I’ve been curling my hair a lot recently, and I totally love it! I always thought that it would take too long to do or that my thick hair would pull out the curls. But, you guys…it doesn’t! I’m loving that I can change it up from straight to curly from time to time.

pic 4

10. Daylight Savings Time is this Saturday night. While I’m bummed to  miss an hour of sleep, I’m super pumped that it’s going to start staying daylight longer!! Just another sign that spring is right around the corner!

Let’s Chat…

1. What’s something that you’ve let go of this week because you can’t (and sometimes don’t want) to do it all?

2. Best workout you’ve done recently?

3. Would you rather… Give up breakfast foods for a year OR give up all things chocolate for a year? While both would totally suck, I think I’d choose chocolate…gasp! I do love my chocolate, but I think I need my breakfasts more!

6 thoughts on “Brain Dump–Thinking Out Loud {2/6/14}

  1. Choose between chocolate or breakfast?! Omg I seriously hope that’s a choice that I’ll never have to make. But I’m with you — I’d give up chocolate. I do love it, but no oatmeal, pancakes, yogurt messes, cereals? Wouldn’t be able to do it…

    And… confession: Sometimes I leave my laundry in the drier for up to a week and only remove single pieces when I need them. Laziness to the max :lol:

    • Bahaha! I totally do the dryer thing too! Or it all goes in a basket on TOP of the dryer that I pick out of. What can I say, laundry isn’t my thing. ;-)

  2. I definitely let laundry fall by the wayside when things get too busy! And sometimes workouts, which I hate to admit. Our apartment is so small though that there’s nowhere to hide the piles of laundry and eventually I have no choice! I wish I had a dryer to hide it in, like Amanda haha!

    Choosing between chocolate and breakfast would be the toughest thing ever. But I guess if I HAD to, it would be chocolate. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but chocolate is everything. So I guess I’d have to get my occasional sweet fix elsewhere.

    • Yup, I’m guilty of pulling the dryer trick too. Like you, I really don’t have a huge sweet tooth, but I LOVE dark chocolate! I think I’d have to get my fix elsewhere though, because breakfast foods are definitely a necessity.

  3. Sarah,
    I LOVE your blog and your sweet heart. As a fellow ED struggler (is that a word?) trying to find a better balance, I can so relate to your posts.

    Just so you know, before I ever read about your own ED “story”…I was admiring how gorgeous and beautiful you look. You could totally be a model, but even more than that…you are a great teacher…in more ways than one. : ) Thanks!

  4. So sweet of your Mom to pop into your classroom. You have such a beautiful family, and I absolutely love your hair curled!

    Breakfast or Chocolate?? I’d definitely give up breakfast first. There is no way I would be able to make it in life without a healthy & filling breakfast. Besides, it is the most important meal of the day :)

Leave a Reply

