Just What We Needed

Hi friends!

How’s 2014 treating you so far? After staying up waaaayyy past my bedtime on NYE (12:40 – gasp! Party animals over here, I tell ya!), I slept a little later than normal and rolled out of bed at 8 on the dot. I’d say my 2014 is off to a super start!

A big thanks to Amanda for hosting 2014’s first Thinking Out Loud ! :-)

Our New Year’s Day was pretty laid back. We lounged around the house all morning long before I decided to unload the dishwasher, fold a little laundry, and fix some lunch. 

Lunch consisted of an open-faced bagel topped with hummus, turkey, lettuce, and tomato served with mini-triscuits and a Kashi dark chocolate and oatmeal cookie. 

Have you guys tried these mini-triscuits? Delicious! I love that they’re bite size and salt-covered. I’m a sucker for anything covered in salt. Unhealthy, I know, BUT, I have a really low blood pressure, so I’m calling it ok for now. ;-)

The rest of the afternoon was spent doing more laundry … we sure do make a lot of dirty clothes for only 2 people. Or, maybe someone just doesn’t do laundry often enough? Dunno. I was also able to get a little craft project started while the hubs watched football. 

About 4pm, I knew I needed to eat a little something, so I had a yummy snack consisting of a Chocolate Dipped Coconut Luna Bar (holy yum), blackberry pomegranate green tea, and a little water to wash it all down. Is it weird that I have to have something cold with my warm drinks? Sometimes warm drinks don’t quench my thirst. 


John and I then decided to conquer to puzzle I began last weekend. I think we got 4 pieces in? Ugh! Puzzles always sound like such a good idea, but I don’t think I’m a patient enough person. 

A while later, dinner time rolled around, and I was pumped to try a new recipe! 

Tonight’s meal came together super fast and tasted awesome. A win-win in my book!

I’ve come across this recipe for sweet potato, spinach, and chicken quesadillas from Courtney before. But, when I saw them again recently, I couldn’t get them out of my head. 

Believe me when I tell you, they did NOT disappoint! (Even though it looks like all that is on my plate is a toasted wrap. I swear the yumminess is just hiding!)

We spent the rest of the evening watching football and various other things, laughing at the ridiculousness John finds on YouTube, and browsing Instagram. Party central over here. 

It was a lazy, semi-unproductive New Year’s Day, but it was just what we needed after the busy holiday season! 

Hope your first day of 2014 was just as enjoyable as ours! 

1. What did you do today?

2. Would you prefer to stay in or go out?  For me, it just depends. There are definitely days where I’m itching to get out and about. But, I also LOVE my down time at home too. 

3. What was the last yummy recipe you made?

7 thoughts on “Just What We Needed

  1. I’m the same way with needing something cold alongside my warm drinks… and water is pretty much a MUST for me when I’m drinking coffee, or else I use start feeling really tired because of the whole dehydration thing.

    I’m with you on starting off the new year on a calm and quiet note. After the craziness of the holidays, I could really use a little bit of downtime to recharge. I love Christmas and everything that comes with it, but I have to admit that it’s nice to be past all that and get back to a normal routine.

    Happy 2014, Sarah!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one double fisting it in the mornings! Ha! :-)

      As far as the “calm after the storm” regarding the holidays, I’d say there’s a reason that kind of thing only happens once a year!

      Hope you had a Happy New Year’s!

    • Yep! I LOVE them! I fell in love with them when we registered for our wedding 3 years ago, and I’m still obsessed with them. Great minds think alike. ;-)

  2. Pingback: 5 Things Friday – What I Learned over Christmas Break |

Leave a Reply

